April events

Getting this in before it risks becoming an April Fool post: here is a round-up of what Crime Cymru members are up to in April. April 3rd, Philip Gwynne Jones is exchanging Venice for Swansea, for the official launch of his new thriller The Venetian Masquerade, which will be published on April 4th. A game of blackmail and betrayal is played among the backstreets and canals of Venice . . . Philip will be in Taliesin Create at Swansea University for the launch, after which he’ll be giving a lecture to the MA creative writing students. Philip will be at Waterstone’s in Swansea to sign copies of his new book on April 5th, and on April 7th, between 4 and 6pm he’ll be interviewed on Radio Wales, on the Roy Noble show. Leslie Scase, author of Fortuna’s Deadly Shadow, is also featuring on radio. He’ll be interviewed on GTFM at 10am on April 5th. April 4th sees the publication of B E Jones’s new thriller, Wilderland. It’s...
Read More

Launch of Fortuna’s Deadly Shadow

Congratulations to Leslie Scase on the publication of his historical crime novel. Read what he has to say about the launch. The recent launch event for Fortuna's Deadly Shadow was held in Pontypridd Museum, which was a lovely venue. As it was my first experience of a launch I didn't quite know what to expect. The audience was smaller than anticipated but it actually made for a nice friendly atmosphere. Many thanks to our new member Gaynor, for coming along to support. (We had switched the date from 29th March because of clashing with Brexit day !!! Unfortunately the new date for the launch clashed with the televised cup match of Merthyr v Pontypridd.) Matt Johnson showed his sublime skills as an interviewer, gained from his former occupation and we had a good chat afterwards over the refreshments. However, I am sure that he will agree with me that the highlight was the reading of a few passages by my editor's husband....
Read More

Wales as a setting #1 – Cheryl Rees Price

This is the first in an occasional series on Wales as a setting for crime fiction. Cheryl Rees-Price writes about the inspiration of her locality for the settings of her books. When writing the first book in the DI Winter Meadows series I could think of no better place to set the book than Wales. A place with bleak landscapes, dark brooding skies, and small close-knit communities. I guess it’s not so different from the settings found in popular Scandi crime fiction. I grew up in the Amman valley, so I know the area well. Although I base the location of my books on this area I have changed the names of the villages. Firstly, because I did not want to cause offence by using a well-known building or area as a scene of crime, secondly, I could unwittingly ignite some gossip, particularly as there are some colourful characters where I live, and lastly, it gave me more scope when writing, I can...
Read More

A Busy Month

Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Hapus! Happy St David’s Day! Crime Cymru has a lot to celebrate this month. Check our events page for more details. First of all, B E Jones is featured in a New Welsh Writers series in the Cardiff Review. Read her interview here. And a new novel by Leslie Scase is out today: a fast moving whodunnit set in the 1890's with the essential ingredients for Victorian crime fiction - grisly murder, gambling, music halls and brothels. All set against an authentic historical background. Fortuna’s Deadly Shadow - Pontypridd, 1893. A train crashes, and in the chaos of the disaster a killer covers the trail of a violent murder, but one of the crash victims is identified by means of a pocket watch. Two years later, Thomas Chard's arrival in town to take up his post as inspector in the burgeoning police force coincides with the grisly discovery of a body in the River Taff. Find it on Amazon. On the 20th March, you...
Read More

Film Noir!

MASSIVE congratulations to Welsh crime writer and Crime Cymru member Catrin Collier (writing as Katherine John) whose book By Any Name comes to the screen as an indy film this week! This is a really Welsh film, written by a Welsh scriptwriter, made in Wales with partly Welsh cast, set in Wales, (as was the book source material) by Welsh company Tanabi - on a shoestring funded by the director, Euros Jones Evans' credit cards and the generosity of cast and crew who worked for nothing. Starring Samira Mohamed Ali and Cengiz Dervis 'By Any Name' the film is on all Amazon Prime platforms and also on I Tunes. Get viewing if you can access either of those platforms - it looks like an utter cracker!...
Read More

Crowding In

The publishing world is changing, by the day. Eamonn Griffin discusses one new type of venture that is overturning the old norms. Canine Jubilee: crowdfunding and what it entails for the crime writer I’ve just launched a crowdfunding campaign for Canine Jubilee, the second book in my noir thriller series involving protagonist Dan Matlock. Matlock’s a debt collector who has taken to conducting investigations when called upon. The first book in the series – East of England – was crowdfunded too, through Unbound Publishing. So, why crowdfund, and why Unbound? Unbound was begun by 2013 by a trio of writers including QI alumnus John Mitchinson, as a publishing company that would focus on crowdfunding to supports its efforts, in the same way that the likes of Kickstarter and IndieGoGo offer a means by which supporters can buy into a product / service / creative endeavour in advance, and so support that project into being. All of Unbound’s books are crowdfunded, meaning that the production...
Read More

New Release: Locked Down by G B Williams

Lock Yourself Away The Locked Trilogy from GB Williams started with Locked Up, moved on with Locked In and now draws to its dramatic and surprising conclusion in Locked Down, releasing Monday 18th Feb 2019. The Locked Trilogy tells the story of Charlie Bell, an ex-Detective Sergeant who has been imprisoned for a murder he did commit. Inside he meets Prison Officer Ariadne Teddington, who needs his help to investigate when a murder inside is just the tip of the iceberg. Once released Charlie struggles to cope with the world where he can no longer do the job he loves – being a copper. Instead, he jumps the fence and turn grass. He never for one moment thought that that would put Ariadne in the danger zone. In Locked Down, DCI Matthew Piper, Charlie’s ex-boss, is investigating cold cases, not least of all the disappearance of Ariadne Teddington’s younger brother. When that crosses with current on-going investigations, all Hell breaks loose around him,...
Read More

Mēmais Noslēpums

We're not just in Wales, you know. Or even just Patagonia. We're appearing in more unexpected places, as Cheryl Rees-Price has found. "Winter Meadows has arrived in Latvia! The first in the Meadows series, The Silent Quarry, has been translated and published by Jumava. The book is now available in bookstores across Latvia. I’m delighted with the cover and the translations of my name, Čerila Rīsa-Praisa. I would love to visit Latvia one day, it’s a beautiful country. In the meantime I’m hoping the book will spread a little love for Welsh crime."  ...
Read More

East of England by Eamonn Griffin

Our newest member, Eamonn Griffin, has a new book out now. East of England by Eamonn Griffin published by Unbound. He’s out of prison. Now the punishment begins. East of England blends a rural take on the noir thriller with a fascination with the British industrialised countryside that lies east of the Lincolnshire Wolds, between the Humber and the Wash. Unlit byways rather than the neon-bright and rain-slicked city. A world of caravan parks, slot machines, and low-rise battery farms. Dan Matlock is out of jail. He’s got a choice. Stay or leave. Go back to where it all went wrong, or simply get out of the county. Disappear. Start again as someone else. But it’s not as simple as that. There’s the matter of the man he killed. It wasn’t murder, but even so. You tell that to the family. Especially when that family is the Mintons, who own half that’s profitable and two-thirds of what’s crooked between the Wolds and the coast. And who could...
Read More

Coming shortly: April release for B E Jones

Little Brown publishers are whetting our appetites with news of the forthcoming release of Bev Jones' latest thriller, Wilderness, due out in April. Wilderness - A gripping and compulsive psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us. Two weeks, 1500 miles and three opportunities for her husband to save his own life. It wasn't about his survival - it was about hers. Shattered by the discovery of her husband's affair, Liv knows they need to leave the chaos of New York to try to save their marriage. Maybe the roadtrip that they'd always planned, exploring America's national parks, just the two of them, would help heal the wounds. But what Liv hasn't told her husband is that she has set him three challenges. Three opportunities to prove he's really sorry and worthy of her forgiveness. If he fails? Well, it's dangerous out there. There are so many ways to die in the wilderness. And if it's easy to die, then it's easy...
Read More