Crowding In

The publishing world is changing, by the day. Eamonn Griffin discusses one new type of venture that is overturning the old norms. Canine Jubilee: crowdfunding and what it entails for the crime writer I’ve just launched a crowdfunding campaign for Canine Jubilee, the second book in my noir thriller series involving protagonist Dan Matlock. Matlock’s a debt collector who has taken to conducting investigations when called upon. The first book in the series – East of England – was crowdfunded too, through Unbound Publishing. So, why crowdfund, and why Unbound? Unbound was begun by 2013 by a trio of writers including QI alumnus John Mitchinson, as a publishing company that would focus on crowdfunding to supports its efforts, in the same way that the likes of Kickstarter and IndieGoGo offer a means by which supporters can buy into a product / service / creative endeavour in advance, and so support that project into being. All of Unbound’s books are crowdfunded, meaning that the production...
Read More

New Release: Locked Down by G B Williams

Lock Yourself Away The Locked Trilogy from GB Williams started with Locked Up, moved on with Locked In and now draws to its dramatic and surprising conclusion in Locked Down, releasing Monday 18th Feb 2019. The Locked Trilogy tells the story of Charlie Bell, an ex-Detective Sergeant who has been imprisoned for a murder he did commit. Inside he meets Prison Officer Ariadne Teddington, who needs his help to investigate when a murder inside is just the tip of the iceberg. Once released Charlie struggles to cope with the world where he can no longer do the job he loves – being a copper. Instead, he jumps the fence and turn grass. He never for one moment thought that that would put Ariadne in the danger zone. In Locked Down, DCI Matthew Piper, Charlie’s ex-boss, is investigating cold cases, not least of all the disappearance of Ariadne Teddington’s younger brother. When that crosses with current on-going investigations, all Hell breaks loose around him,...
Read More

Mēmais Noslēpums

We're not just in Wales, you know. Or even just Patagonia. We're appearing in more unexpected places, as Cheryl Rees-Price has found. "Winter Meadows has arrived in Latvia! The first in the Meadows series, The Silent Quarry, has been translated and published by Jumava. The book is now available in bookstores across Latvia. I’m delighted with the cover and the translations of my name, Čerila Rīsa-Praisa. I would love to visit Latvia one day, it’s a beautiful country. In the meantime I’m hoping the book will spread a little love for Welsh crime."  ...
Read More

East of England by Eamonn Griffin

Our newest member, Eamonn Griffin, has a new book out now. East of England by Eamonn Griffin published by Unbound. He’s out of prison. Now the punishment begins. East of England blends a rural take on the noir thriller with a fascination with the British industrialised countryside that lies east of the Lincolnshire Wolds, between the Humber and the Wash. Unlit byways rather than the neon-bright and rain-slicked city. A world of caravan parks, slot machines, and low-rise battery farms. Dan Matlock is out of jail. He’s got a choice. Stay or leave. Go back to where it all went wrong, or simply get out of the county. Disappear. Start again as someone else. But it’s not as simple as that. There’s the matter of the man he killed. It wasn’t murder, but even so. You tell that to the family. Especially when that family is the Mintons, who own half that’s profitable and two-thirds of what’s crooked between the Wolds and the coast. And who could...
Read More

Coming shortly: April release for B E Jones

Little Brown publishers are whetting our appetites with news of the forthcoming release of Bev Jones' latest thriller, Wilderness, due out in April. Wilderness - A gripping and compulsive psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us. Two weeks, 1500 miles and three opportunities for her husband to save his own life. It wasn't about his survival - it was about hers. Shattered by the discovery of her husband's affair, Liv knows they need to leave the chaos of New York to try to save their marriage. Maybe the roadtrip that they'd always planned, exploring America's national parks, just the two of them, would help heal the wounds. But what Liv hasn't told her husband is that she has set him three challenges. Three opportunities to prove he's really sorry and worthy of her forgiveness. If he fails? Well, it's dangerous out there. There are so many ways to die in the wilderness. And if it's easy to die, then it's easy...
Read More

The Teifi Coroner is set to strike again

The second Teifi Coroner historical mystery, In Two Minds, by Alis Hawkins, is due out in May. Read what Alis has to say about it. This is the cover of the next book in the Teifi Valley Coroner series, due out in May this year. I’m delighted with the lovely, atmospheric cover design by Jem Butcher but do you know what those stone structures in the foreground are? Anybody? They’re lime kilns. At the beginning of In Two Minds a naked body is discovered on a beach, lying in the surf on a load of limestone, dumped from a ship ready for processing. So lime burning was one of the first things I had to learn about when I started research for the book. I knew, from a very early age, that Cardiganshire farmers needed to spread powdered lime on their fields because I saw my dad doing it. I remember watching the tractor bouncing around the fields below our farmhouse with a huge cloud of...
Read More

Cathy Ace at the Gower Festival

Cathy Ace, who grew up in Swansea, will be over from Canada to appear at the Gower Festival, 4pm on July 5th 2019, at the Worm's Head Hotel in Rhossili, to talk about her new book, The Wrong Boy, which has a setting remarkably like Rhossili. She'll also be talking about her series, the Cait Morgan Mysteries and the WISE Enquiries Agency Mysteries Not only that, but you can have a cream tea as well! GOWER FESTIVAL...
Read More

Death Knell, by Sally Spedding.

Sally Spedding’s DEATH KNELL, third of the DI John Lyon thrillers, published by Sharpe Books, is out now on Kindle. Norfolk, November 1988. After two life-changing investigations in France, former Detective Inspector John Lyon has moved south from Nottingham to Colchester with plans to enjoy his retirement. But a phone call from Professor Stephen Vickers, a former student friend, now Dean of History at a university near Diss, disturbs his rest. Vickers senses he is in danger, having unearthed evidence of a gruesome tragedy in 1920. The murder of an innocent family is a secret someone still wants keep buried, yet the professor is determined to uncover the truth.  But at what cost? Death Knell is a visceral, chilling novel with twists and turns, which will keep the reader gripped from the first page to the last. Find it now on Amazon AND all three books are out now as an omnibus edition, Ghosts From The Past....
Read More

New Novel: The Wrong Boy

Crime Cymru's first new book of 2019 is out now: The Wrong Boy by Cathy Ace. Perched on a Welsh clifftop, the ancient, picturesque hamlet of Rhosddraig has its peaceful façade ripped apart when human remains are discovered under a pile of stones. The village pub, The Dragon's Head, run by three generations of women, becomes the focal point for those interested in the grisly find, and it’s where layers of deceit are peeled away to expose old secrets, and deep wounds. The police need to establish who died, how, and why, but DI Evan Glover knows he can’t be involved in the investigation, because he's just two days away from retirement. However, as the case develops in unexpected ways, it becomes irrevocably woven into his life, and the lives of local families, leading to disturbing revelations – and deadly consequences . . .   The Wrong Boy is published by Four Tails Publishing Ltd on January 9th 2019. www.cathyace.com/the-wrong-boy ...
Read More